Reader’s Profile

I like to think that I’m very eclectic when it comes to books, but the truth is that I can be very picky about the books I welcome into my heart. In general, I love Fairy Tales; 20th century American Fiction; American and British Poetry of the Romantic, Victorian, Gothic, Modern, and Contemporary eras; 19th and 20th century American and British Plays; Fantasy Fiction and Science Fiction; Graphic Novels; and all things Satire and Wit.

My favorite dead authors are Shakespeare, Mark Twain, Edgar Allan Poe, Vladimir Nabokov, Robert Heinlein, George Orwell, Flannery O’Connor, Robert Jordan, and Hunter S. Thompson.

My favorite living authors are Christopher Moore, Neil Gaiman, Brandon Sanderson, Art Spiegelman, Mark Z. Danielewski, and Toni Morrisson.

Every year, I reread the following books: Gone With the Wind, Ella Enchanted, The Godfather, Lamb and Fool (both by Christopher Moore), and The Wild Party.

Last year, I almost lost my mind to Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves. Who am I kidding? I did lose my mind. That book makes “Inception” look like Sesame Street. I plan to do so again next month, so you may notice a change in my writing.

 

I don’t love everything. I hate some books and authors with a passion, and this is all the more problematic because they are beloved by many. I loathe Sylvia Plath, especially The Bell Jar. I feel the same way about F. Scott Fitzgerald and The Great Gatsby. I won’t launch into a tirade about the Twilight series. But I hope that my own bias won’t taint my ability to offer valuable and personalized advice for readers.

I love reading books that are recommended to me, but this blog is about me recommending books to you. And turning in assignments, but whatever. I’m really looking forward to shaping it into something all of my friends and peers can enjoy.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

